Monday, January 30, 2012

epiphany

so apparently a weekend away from barcelona makes me forget where i am and how to get to class etc. i decided to give myself a few extra minutes of sleep this morning...not my brightest idea...and ended up rushing to class. i decided to try out a different metro line today because it drops me off closer to class. of course when i got there i got out at the wrong side and was running around like a chicken with my head cut off trying to find the big building that i recognize. i finally found it and still made it to class before the professor. so on the way home for some reason i got off the red line and got back on in the other direction. i realized i wasnt on a green line when it was already too late. i had to go almost all the way back to school until i could switch. but i do not regret this mistake because it made me realize something. today in class we were talking about how we think spanish people lack manners because they dont say sorry or thank you or please most of the time. i saw a man sit down next to another man and basically sit on him but didnt say a word and the other man didnt react at all. in my head i was thinking "wow that was rude" and thought how i would have said sorry if i did that. But then i started to think...was that really something that deserved an apology? and when we say please and thank you over and over again...is that really necessary? I think that americans often overreact about certain things and overdo manners a lot. it almost is fake. even if this might be true, when i get back to america i am not going to stop being polite because in our culture i would be seen as a brat but my point is that i have been getting very offended and annoyed with how rude people are here but it is really just their culture and they might be doing the right thing not being so sensitive about everything.

No comments:

Post a Comment