Wednesday, January 25, 2012

week 2 of classes


once again, i clearly suck at updating this blog...but anyway from where i left off. We ended up going to la oveja negra which means black sheep in spanish to watch the soccer game. We ended up getting there too late and decided to see how packed George Payne was. We met a boy on the way to la oveja negra who happens to be on the barcelona track and field team. We went to a little bar near campus called bica bica bar which was full of locals. We left before the game ended because subways stopped running at 12 so we wanted to get home. Thursday we went to class and then we went to diplo at razzmatazz. diplo is a dj. the place was insanely packed


Diplo was awesome except for the fact that corey lost her purse. The next day we got up and went to la segrada familia (or the drizzle castle church- mom) which was one of the most beautiful/interesting pieces of architecture i have ever seen
We went home and that night we went to shoko where we had a few issues so we ended up going to catwalk. The next day we went to parc guell which is the gaudi park
we got there during sunset which was beautiful but we want to go back  when its light out. The hike up there makes me not want to go back, but its too pretty not to. We went home and went to one of Liz friends from school's apt to pregame. We then went to a place called elephant which was a very cool place but not too many people were there. We had fun anyway. Afterwards we went to one of our friends chris's (that we met at diplo) apartment or PENTHOUSE. yes he lives in the penthouse suite. We had to go see it. We kind of felt like we got pushed out but it was very late so it was understandable. Sunday we woke up pretty late and went to go find a mexican restaurant to eat at. We ended up getting lost and settling for an irish pub. The food was good and close enough to mexican. So then comes the beginning of a new week of school. Professors here assign tons of reading which is not my cup of tea. Its hard for me to pay attention to reading something and actually retain what i read but im trying. Monday we had classes and that night we tried to book trips and ended up failing miserably except for buying skrillex tickets for berlin march 23rd. We booked our CEA trips which is a weekend in Madrid a weekend in Valencia and a few other day trips and "experiencing catalonia" trips which we figured out we might have to end up backing out of in order to go on weekend trips to other places. Yesterday i went to classes and after class Jacque and I went to george payne  and got some nacho comfort food which i think will be happening a lot. When we got home i did my spanish homework and went to take a nap which turned into a full night of sleep. We were planning on going out but since we are going out tonight (liz's 21st birthday) we decided it was better to be well rested. I got a new pillow which i was hoping would give me a better night sleep but last night wasnt that great so i dont know if im just getting used to it or what. So i went to classes today, in my first class we had our first field trip to the history of barcelona museum. The museum was built on top of old roman structures that were dug up years ago. It was really cool and interesting to see but of course i forgot my camera so i had to use my blackberry camera.
397369_2647989203375_1365030067_32441996_1784919645_n.jpg
 this was the original sign of barcelona. it was orignally called "barcin" until more discoveries were made that revealed the actual name was barcelona. I went to my spanish class after and i am starting to understand more little by little. There are times when i feel completely lost in class but other times when i know exactly what she is saying. I think with time i will become more comfortable. On the way home i made my first solo trip to consum (the grocery store) which was successful except that i couldnt figure out how to weigh fruit so i just ended up putting it back...fail. So tonight we are going to la oveja negra and hopefully getting in to watch the fc barcelona vs. madrid game and then probably going out for Liz's birthday. tomorrow night we are off to London! 


sidenote: some things ive noticed/learned- people are not very friendly unless they live in your apartment building
 its obvious were americans and people will stare at us and try to rip us off
guys hairstyles are shaved in the front and dreads in the back
the reason why people are so big on pda and smoking is becuase during the franco dictatorship the only time you could kiss your significant other was at bus stops saying goodbye and smoking was outlawed so once his ruling was over people when crazy. i know theres a lot more but i cant think of it at the  moment and im way overdue for a siesta. 

Adios!

No comments:

Post a Comment