Wednesday, January 18, 2012

first week of classes




 so obviously i'm not very good at updating this blog but i think once i get in a pattern i will update more often. Basically I haven't updated because classes started this week and I got sick so my days have consisted of going to class and going to sleep. So lets start from where i left off...sunday. After liz and i went on our adventure-which consisted of us walking to starbucks and trying so hard to order in spanish and them ending up saying "iced caramel macchiato" and "iced latte". Also the man asked me if we were from another country but i though he asked for exact change so i have him 20 cents. I feel so stupid not understanding the language. Another thing that is taking a lot to get used to is euros. Since there are 2 euro coins and 1 euro coins they are actually worth something. At home change doesnt exist to me- i put it in my piggy bank and cash all my change in and thats when it becomes real money. Also people prefer to give you euro coins instead of bills so its hard to manage all of the coins. Back to our adventure... after we went to starbucks we walked a little more to areas we havent been and went to a panaderia (bread store) which is basically just a storefront with all different types of breads and croissants. There was a dog standing next to us while we were waiting on line. There are dogs off leashes everywhere here and they are so well trained and stay right next to their owners. I got a croissant with chocolate in the middle and it was amazing. We sat in a park and watched the little spanish children play like the creeps that we are. We went home and got Jacque up and we went to campus to figure out how to get to our 3 different campuses. Its about a 20-30 minute metro ride to campus and its about a 10-15 minute walk between campuses. CEA decided to be confusing and made certain classes be in a different building for the first week of classes so that was hard to understand. We got really lost but ended up being able to figure it out. We went home and started getting ready to go to the W which is the biggest hotel in barcelona and is shaped like a sail. Paris hilton and Shakira and a lot of other celebrities have parties there. There was free entry so we decided we might as well go while we can get in for free.
view from the W
the W

Our super expensive/classy watermelon drinks

da roomies

We went home and got ready for classes the next day. I woke up with a horrible sore throat and no voice- perfect for the first day of classes! I felt horrible. My monday/wednesday classes end at 2:30 so i just had to keep telling myself i was going to go home and sleep right after class. I had my barcelona past and present class first. I really like the professor he seems really funny and it doesnt seem like its going to be too much work. Second i had intermediate spanish I. Surprisingly, i understood a lot of what the professor was saying and somehow got the confidence to answer a few questions. I went home straight after class, still feeling miserable, and went straight to sleep. I woke up around 6 when jacque and liz came home, talked to them about our days quick and went back to sleep until 12 and then i ate and went straight back to sleep walking up at 830 the next morning. I woke up feeling a little better, but still very bad so i made an appt for the doctor that night. I went to classes and first i had my photography class. This was probably the class i was most excited for and i was very disappointed by it. When the professor asked if people had experience with photography only one other person raised their hand. 3 people had slr cameras and everyone else had point and shoot cameras. Im sure the class will still be good i will just have to make the most of it for myself and not worry about the other people in the class. After this class i had a 2 hour break so I went to go eat with a girl i met before class. We went to George Payne which is an irish pub and i got a chicken caesar salad. It ended up being a 2 for one deal so we got lucky on that one. We went to starbucks for a little. Then I had world religions. This class seems like its going to be a lot of work. We have a 20 page paper which is unreal. I think a lot of people are going to switch out of that class. I think its going to be very interesting but a lot of work. Next i had Intercultural interactions the psychological perspective. The professor was from dublin and had a thick brogue. I think im going to enjoy this class a lot as well but it is also going to be a lot of work. After classes I went home and jacque and i went to the doctors. We got lost on the way there and ended up being a half hour late. The receptionist did not speak a word of english but i was somehow able to get by talking to her. The doctor was a nice little old man who spoke english. Its funny because the people who speak english here will still throw in a "si" and "gracias" here and there. Ive even caught myself doing it a few times. The doctors office was very cool with book shelfs filled with books as the walls. He said the office belonged to his father before he took over. He said that it was just a very bad cold but with bad post nasal drip so he gave me a zpac. The european zpacs are only 3 pills with 250(?) milligrams. I took one when i got home, did my spanish homework, and went to sleep. I had serious anxiety dreams (in spanish) about me getting lost on the way to class last night, maybe from the zpac, but i woke up feeling 75% better so the dreams were worth it. I still dont feel great but i think it will go away quick. I went with jacque this morning to get phones but they were taking so long i was scared i was going to be late for class so i left. I ended up taking a different metro line than usual but somehow found my way there which makes me think i know this area more than i give myself credit for. I made it to class on time and came home right after classes. I am going to go actually get the phone now, go to the grocery store, and run a few errands before everyone else gets home. Theres a barcelona vs. madrid soccer game on tonight so we are going to a bar to watch it. 
Adios!

No comments:

Post a Comment